G20 FacebookG20 TwitterG20 FlickrG20 RSSG20 Subscribe

The G20 and the World

The G20 committed in its 5th Anniversary Vision Statement to listen carefully to institutions and countries which are not in the group. This is because the G20’s growth and resilience agenda matters to all countries, not just those in the G20. Growth in G20 countries, which constitute 85 per cent of the global economy, is essential to growth and development elsewhere.

In 2014, the G20 is focusing on empowering development so developing countries can attract infrastructure investment, strengthen their tax base and improve their people’s access to financial services.

G20 guest countries

Each year the G20 president invites guest countries to attend the Leaders' Summit to participate in member discussions about the agenda.

Inviting guest countries gives non-members an opportunity to bring their views to the G20 table. The selection of guests reflects the G20’s commitment to ensuring all regions of the world are represented, and in consulting with countries beyond the G20 membership so as to understand fully their economic challenges, how they experience changes in the global economy and how G20 decisions affect them.

Each year, the G20’s guests include Spain (a permanent invitee); the Chair of ASEAN; two African countries (the chair of the African Union and a representative of the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD)) and a country or countries invited by the presidency, usually from its own region. Since the first leader-level meeting of the G20 in 2008, guests have included Benin, Brunei, Cambodia, Chile, Colombia, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan, Malawi, the Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, the United Arab Emirates and Vietnam.

In 2014 Australia welcomes Mauritania, as the 2014 chair of the African Union; Myanmar, as the 2014 Chair of ASEAN; New Zealand; Senegal, representing NEPAD; Singapore; and Spain.


Australia is engaging with non-members to develop international understanding of the G20 and to seek views and input the 2014 agenda and is working closely with countries in our region and with Asia-Pacific groupings, including the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation forum (APEC), the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), and the Pacific Islands Forum (PIF).

Australian ambassadors, the G20 Special Representative, and visiting ministers and officials are also leading G20-related outreach and advocacy events around the world to further the discussion on the G20 and its agenda and promote international economic governance. We are also using our links with the UN and other organisations such as the Commonwealth and La Francophonie to ensure inclusive dialogue with the developing world.

Australia hosted the third annual G20 Commonwealth – La Francophonie Development Dialogue in Washington on 7 April.  Over 20 developing country members of the Commonwealth and La Francophonie in Africa, Asia, the Pacific and the Caribbean, G20 countries, the EU and several international organisations attended.


Read the Policy Note The G20: A forum for the 21st century.

Engagement Groups