G20 FacebookG20 TwitterG20 FlickrG20 RSSG20 Subscribe

Australia 2014

Australia’s G20 presidency runs from 1 December 2013 to 30 November 2014. Hosting the G20 in 2014 gives Australia a valuable opportunity to influence the global economic agenda and to strengthen engagement with the world’s major economies.

During the presidency, Australia is leading a series of preparatory meetings that will culminate in the G20 Leaders Summit, to be chaired by the current G20 President, Australia’s Prime Minister Tony Abbott. The summit, to be held on 15 and 16 November at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre in Queensland, will be the most significant meeting of world leaders Australia has hosted.

Australia’s Treasurer Joe Hockey chairs meetings of Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors to drive the economic and financial reform agenda, supported by Governor of the Reserve Bank of Australia Glenn Stevens.

Australia’s Trade and Investment Minister Andrew Robb chaired the G20 Trade Ministers meeting held in July in Sydney.

The Labour and Employment Ministerial meeting held in September was chaired by Australia’s Employment Minister Eric Abetz.

Each G20 leader has a Sherpa who is a senior official responsible for preparing the agenda for leaders to consider at the annual summit. Australia's Sherpa, Dr Heather Smith of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet was appointed in September 2013 by the Prime Minister to oversee summit preparations and chair sherpa meetings.

Similarly, the Treasurer has appointed Mr Barry Sterland of the Treasury to be his Finance Deputy. He chairs meetings of Finance and Central Bank Deputies, supported by Dr Phil Lowe of the Reserve Bank of Australia.

International engagement activities are supported by Australia’s diplomatic network. Mr Daniel Sloper, as G20 Special Representative in the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, is supporting the Foreign Minister Julie Bishop and Australia’s Sherpa undertake international outreach and advocacy in support of the G20’s 2014 agenda.

The Australian presidency is working closely with engagement groups – the B20, C20, L20 and T20 and Y20 – as they bring together the range of opinions and perspectives from outside government that inform the G20 membership.

The G20 Taskforce in the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet is working closely with Treasury and the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, and partners with other Australian, state and territory government departments to coordinate Australia’s G20 presidency, including arrangements for G20 meetings.

Read more about Australia's G20 key representatives:

Engagement Groups